What Makes Us

The Boston Civic Symphony

History

Founded in 1924 by the late educator, conductor and composer, Joseph Wagner, the Boston Civic Symphony is the second oldest symphony orchestra in the city.  As one of Boston’s most respected musical organizations, the BCS has distinguished itself from other local musical groups through its focus on presenting an unusually broad range of music by exceptionally skilled students and amateurs and through its emphasis on developing a broad-based audience.

The BCS’s presentation of works by masters like Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms is balanced by its performances of pieces by contemporary American composers.  Concerts are held at New England Conservatory’s Jordan Hall and the Fine Art Center at Regis College in Weston, MA where the BCS is the orchestra in residence.

Our Mission

To encourage attendance by a diverse population from the Greater Boston area by offering moderately priced tickets and by distribution of a number of free tickets to underserved populations in Boston.

To provide orchestral training and experience under competent direction for teachers, students of music who are preparing for professional careers, and skilled amateurs.

To offer performances of unusual and contemporary works, with a special focus on American compositions, with leading soloists.  The BCS performs four major concerts, which offer a range of classical and contemporary music.

our staff

Music Director
Francisco Noya
MusicDirector@BostonCivicSymphony.org

Music Director Emeritus
Max Hobart

Executive Director
Michele Mortensen
Executive@BostonCivicSymphony.org

General Manager
Dana Ciccotello
Manager@BostonCivicSymphony.org

Personnel Manager
Thomas Engeln
Personnel@BostonCivicSymphony.org

Operations Manager
Nicole DeMaio
Tickets@BostonCivicSymphony.org

Librarian
Paula McDonald
Librarian@BostonCivicSymphony.org

Assistant Conductor
Matthew Scinto

Board of Directors 

Charles Kawada, M.D., President
President@BostonCivicSymphony.org

Jan Steenbrugge, Vice President

Debra Minard, Treasurer
Treasurer@BostonCivicSymphony.org

Kerry Thompson, Secretary

Kimberly Bishop

Michael Cirami

Michael O’Brien

Eric Stein

Gabrielle R. Wolohojian

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.